Stump the Panel: SharePoint Q&A

Immediate solutions for common SharePoint questions
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


What you are viewing is an archive of Stump the Panel. It remains for reference purposes. Please post all new questions on NothingButSharePoint.com
https://www.nothingbutsharepoint.com/sites/eusp/Forum



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using HTML Calculated Column Buttons to Update Fields
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:10 pm
Posts: 2
Dear all,

I've managed to insert a button in to my task list so far using the below code:

=CONCATENATE("<DIV><INPUT TYPE='button' NAME='myButton' VALUE=Completed onClick=set[Status]='Completed'></DIV>")

I understand that after onclick it all falls apart, but I'm lost with how to edit it so that onclick, it updates the [Status] and [% Complete] columns for that particular row to say "Completed" and "100%" respectively

Anything you can do to help would be massively appreciated - thanks

Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using HTML Calculated Column Buttons to Update Fields
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:15 am
Posts: 1839
Location: North Carolina
It's going to take a lot more than a calculated column to do that. You're wanting to do an update, so there's going to have to be some code to execute the update/postback.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using HTML Calculated Column Buttons to Update Fields
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Silver Spring, MD
You'll save yourself some time if you look at Form Action buttons. With these, you can fire off a workflow that will modify the item. Are you able to use Designer?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using HTML Calculated Column Buttons to Update Fields
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:35 pm
Posts: 364
Actually, this could work if the OnClick called a javascript function (placed in a CEWP) that used jQuery and SPServices.

All without SPD.

But, all that aside, Matt's right: If you have SPD, form action is the way to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using HTML Calculated Column Buttons to Update Fields
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:10 pm
Posts: 2
Nope I don't have access to the designer - so I'm struggling to get it to work.

Seems like it's going to be a lot fo hard work to get it going

Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group